Compost Giveway 2013

Athens Services and the City of Sierra Madre host the first annual Compost Giveaway event on Saturday, April 27, 2013. The event is from 9:00am-12:00pm at Sierra Vista Park, located at 611 E. Sierra Madre Blvd. All Sierra Madre residents are eligible to participate and no advanced reservation is necessary. Be sure to bring a sturdy container for the compost on the day of the event. Shovels will be provided at the event to fill your containers. To ensure all participants receive their fair share, there is a 30 gallon per household limit the first hour of the event. After 10:00am, participants will be able to receive an unlimited amount of compost while supplies last. Athens Services plans to donate 20 tons of compost!

The organic compost is comprised of leaves, yard trimmings and paper litter mixed with wood chips, food waste and other organic materials at the Athens Services Recycling and Material Recovery Facility. The compost is a nutrient rich soil amendment and fertilizer.

The Compost Giveaway is a drive through event located in the Sierra Vista Park parking lot near the sand volley ball and basketball court. For more information please contact the Community Services Office at 626-355-5278.

Latest City Events

Tue Jul 07 @ 3:00PM - Local History Tour
Wed Jul 08 @ 7:00PM - 08:00PM Preschool Storytime - every Wednesday Evening
Thu Jul 09 @10:00AM - 12:00PM Case Management Consultations
Thu Jul 09 @ 3:30PM - 04:30PM Barks & Books
Fri Jul 10 @12:00AM City Hall CLOSED Fridays
Fri Jul 10 @ 8:00PM - Movies in the Park - Paddington
Sat Jul 11 @11:00AM - Local History Tour
Sun Jul 12 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM Concerts in the Park
Mon Jul 13 @10:00AM - 11:00AM Preschool Storytime - every Monday morning
Tue Jul 14 @ 3:00PM - Local History Tour
Thu Jul 16 @11:00AM - 12:00PM Third Thursday Book Club
Thu Jul 16 @ 7:00PM - Planning Commission Meeting