Planning Commission

The Planning Commission helps plan for growth and development in Sierra Madre by advising on long-range goals, policies and programs on a broad array of issues related to land use, modification to and administration of zoning regulations, historical preservation and review of other programs and projects which affect city development. Additionally, the Commission has specific responsibility for the stewardship and maintenance of Sierra Madre's General Plan.

Pursuant to the California Department of Public Health, vaccinated members of the public may physically attend a City Council/Commission/Board meeting without a face covering. Unvaccinated members of the public may physically attend a City Council/Commission/Board meeting, but must continue to wear a mask covering their mouth and nose at all times. Any member of the public who chooses to physically attend an indoor meeting and to not wear a mask, attests to being fully vaccinated with an FDA authorized or approved vaccine for COVID-19.

The following individuals are exempt from wearing masks at all times:
Persons younger than two years old. Very young children must not wear a mask because of the risk of suffocation.
Persons with a medical condition, mental health condition, or disability that prevents wearing a mask. This includes persons with a medical condition for whom wearing a mask could obstruct breathing or who are unconscious, incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove a mask without assistance.
Persons who are hearing impaired, or communicating with a person who is hearing impaired, where the ability to see the mouth is essential for communication.
Persons for whom wearing a mask would create a risk to the person related to their work, as determined by local, state, or federal regulators or workplace safety guidelines.

 Commissioner Current Term Began Current Term Ends Term Currently Serving
Bob Spears 2018 2022 2nd Term
Tom Denison
2019 2023 1st Term
John C. Hutt 2019 2023 2nd Term
William Pevsner 2020 2024 2nd Term
Peggy Dallas 2021 2025 1st Term

Commission Facts
Commissioners do not receive any compensation
Commissioners serve a four-year term             
Meets the 1st and 3rd Thursday at 7:00PM, in the City Hall Council Chamber
Council Liaison: Robert Parkhurst, Council Member
Council Alternate: Rachelle Arizmendi, Council Member

Staff Liaison: Vincent Gonzalez, Planning and Community Preservation Director
To submit comments to the Planning Commission, please email to: [email protected]